Spires and Gargoyles: The Aesthetics of Princeton Part XIX

Chapter II in Book I of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s novel This Side of Paradise is titled “Spires and Gargoyles.” I read this book during the summer, and, as a result, I decided to draw some inspiration from it for a few of my activities.

On Sunday, November 13, I decided to go on a scavenger hunt to find all of Princeton’s spires and gargoyles. I began my quest at the Graduate School, after eating brunch, and finished it at Wilson College. While this is by no means a definitive list, it is a strong photo compilation of them. I also included a few other adornments that I found on the buildings. Princeton by no means has “ordinary” dorms.

All of the buildings had cool decorations, but I think that Guyot Hall takes the prize for the most interesting adornments. It features gargoyles of dinosaurs and fossils around its corners and doors.

Enjoy! Photo Album

 

Leave a Reply

